NOSS student honorees

Left:  Cedar Hill High School and Cedar Hill Collegiate High School were represented by 31 seniors boasting top scholastic achievements at the 2018 Night of Shining Stars ceremony hosted by the Cedar Hill ISD Education Foundation.


     On April 19, 2018 the Cedar Hill ISD Education Foundation honored the top scholastic scholars and their favorite teachers at the non-profit’s annual ‘Night of Shining Stars’ dinner and ceremony.  The students are all seniors from Cedar Hill High School or Cedar Hill Collegiate High School.  Night of Shining Stars was developed to acknowledge and celebrate the distinguished and diverse accomplishments of Cedar Hill ISD academic scholars.  Each student, in turn, was encouraged to recognize a Cedar Hill ISD educator who has been a positive influence on his or her education.  

     The parents of the honored students were invited to the event to acknowledge their participation in the child’s education.  It is such an important partnership that supports the success of the student and the school system.  CHISD Senior Staff, CHISD Trustees and members of the Education Foundation Board were also in attendance.

     Opening remarks were made by Ken Frazier, President of the Cedar Hill ISD Education Foundation and by Dr. Billy Snow, CHISD Superintendent.  Closing the program were remarks from Niki Edwards, Collegiate High School Chancellor and Michael McDonald, Cedar Hill High School Principal.  Each of the Star Students in attendance took their turn at the podium to briefly introduce themselves and then explain why they were honoring their Star Educator.  Their presentations were both humorous and touching.  A common theme heard in many of the tributes was that the Star Teacher found ways to truly connect with the Star Student and inspired them to aim for higher goals, have greater confidence and to be more dedicated to and focused on academic success.

Star Students honored were Aryana Nealy, Crystal Ogbonna, Frernando Torres, Cindy Diaz, Viviana Gomez, Evelyn Marin-Zamora, Susan Vuong, Simone Shead, Annie Flory, Ceinna Little, Sabha Hamed, Dahlia Adam, Megan Lockhart, Maraaj Chowdhury, Brendon Camp, Bailee Rader, Al-Nasser Lawal, Oghale Omakor, Airiana Magdaleno, Amanda Harrison, Victor Barraza, Maria De Los Angeles Villa, Chonrev Cal, Colby King, Blake Gill, Ashley Chavez Muniz, Jenna Eden, Ayotelemi Ojo, Karilyn Hauser, Victoria Lyons, Hannah Stephens.  Star Educators include Wendy Anuwe, Jonathan Arrington, Adam Burke, Stephanie Burnam, Douglas Embry, Janet Forney, Dana Hairgrove, Rodney Ingram, Lauren Jones, Jennifer Lockhart, Jolynn Maddox, Michael McKinney,  Stephen Paine, Rebecca Rader, Miriam Ramirez, Christopher Rhodes, Ruth Romero, Suzan Roper, John Rose, Nicole Rose, James Snipes, Archana Tiwari, John Tomlinson, Gregory Walker, and Kecia Wright.  

For more photos and information see

 The CHISD Education Foundation honored Star Students and Star Educators at the 2018 ‘NIght of Shining Stars’ .